top of page


From Above Vol. 3, 40th reference of Lumière Noire and third compilation of the label is a record in its own right. Let's say that it would be a pity to classify it in the "commercial sampler" category or to reduce it to a "random" playlist. This collection of unreleased tracks functions as a journey, a celebration of a community spirit as much as of the ethics defended by Chloe's label.

Based in Paris, Lumière Noire is a creative entity founded by Chloé pitched somewhere between a record label and a club night.

Opened by the aptly named Higher by Danse Alice, From Above Vol. 3 is a long, mutating climb towards a form of apotheosis. One crosses there cinematographic and növö vibrations (Viral of Justine Forever), minimalist and kraut (Mondi Lontanissimi of Rodion), a certain post-punk morgue (Silk Pistol by C.A.R.), an oblique dance-music (Star Glide by Damien Vandesande, member of dOP), a luminous City Pop reminiscence (Gradus Ad Parnassum by Vega Voga, new project of Narumi Herisson - Tristesse Contemporaine) which contrasts with a worried synthetic dystopia (Lost Boys by Ian Tocor & Joseph Schiano di Lombo).

The seventh track of the compilation 'Correct Settings' by the Brazilian musician and producer Frontinn, succeeds in bringing back into modernity the cold wave and proto-indus heritage without the often harassing revival tics of some current projects. It is a fight between space and time that is played on this evolving piece that we could wonderfully see illustrating a John Carpenter or Nicolas Winding Refn movie.

From Above Vol. 3 also features a new and terribly exciting project called High Season, a duo made of Chloe, the founder of the label, and Ben Shemie, musician at the edge of rock and electronic music, singer of the indispensable Suuns. For their first track called 'Pavillion 606' the duo tackles an Everest on which many musicians have left their skin before them. Hybrid punk, ambient and minimal techno, this Pavilion 606 is the ideal representative of the music according to Lumière Noire, a labyrinth of sounds and moods, ideas and contrasts, in which one never gets lost. Music of experience more than experimentation, this track, distantly guided by ethereal vocals (as if Liz Frazer was greeting François Hardy in the mist), leaves the listener filled with elsewhere.


01 - Danse Alice - Higher (Far From Above Edit)

02 - Roe Deers feat. Wolfstream - Can't Remembe

03 - Justine Forever - Viral

04 - Rodion - Mondi Lontanissimi

05 - Damien Vandesande - Star Glide

06 - C.A.R. - Silk Pistol

07 - Frontinn - Correct Settings

08 - Il Est Vilaine - Insurrection

09 - High Season - Pavilion 606

10 - Ian Tocor & Joseph Schiano di Lombo - Lost Boys

11 - Simon Says - Virago

12 - Vega Voga - Gradus Ad Parnassum

releases February 3, 2023 on Lumière Noire Records

(Image Credits: website / Facebook / Lumière Noire)

bottom of page